Memento

Take me away
Be my afterglow, my retrograde amnesia.

Let me fly on your wings and set me free.

I do not want to stay in this so hurtful city any longer. Every time I set my feet outside the door memories pushes me down.

Everything I lay my gaze on holds a memento in the framework of my life.

I won’t say that only negative tokens pervade the place I grew up in, because that would be a lie.

But what do you do when those aren’t enough to enlighten your smile?

You search for something more. 

You become greedy. 

Wanting true happiness in a world devoid of memories.

Leave a Reply

